Five Mistakes To Avoid In a Nurturing E-Mail

Written by Sean Murphy. Posted in Lead Generation, Rules of Thumb, skmurphy

I signed up for a free trial of a lean project management tool (I have changed the name of the tool to <LeanTool>). A few days later I got the following nurturing E-Mail.

Subject: Are you afraid to manage your project in a lean way?

We’ve noticed that you haven’t been signing into <LeanTool> for a long time and this is a sign that you are not really committed to being lean. Remember that 96% of innovative projects fail, will your project be one of them? I hope not!

Remember that just having a gym membership is not going to help you get better, if you want to improve you have to do the work!

Log in to <LeanTool> today and start validating your project.

There are a x problems with this:

  1. it’s not nurturing.
  2. It assumes the tool is flawless and the problem is one of my motivation. In fact the tool does not work.
  3. I signed up for a free trial but none of the three primary dashboards in <LeanTool> for hypotheses, experiments, and results actually worked.

So I replied:

I went to add a hypothesis and it said that I need to pay.
I tried to add an experiment and it said I need to pay.
I tried to record a result and it said I need to pay.

Can you please explain your model for free evaluation?

It’s like someone showing you free samples in the supermarket and asking “Would you like to try it?” When you say “Yes” then you hear “that will be a $1”

You advertise a free trial but it seems like it is more like a free product tour, you cannot actually do anything.

Anyway, if what you are doing is working for you don’t stop but it seems weirdly antagonistic and dysfunctional
as an approach to letting me evaluate your software. Do you have any fully worked out examples I can review?

I got the following reply:

Hi Sean, thanks for writing!

We have reviewed the website and realized that there is a mistake: previously, we offered a free trial, and we haven’t updated the text in the startups page.

Sorry for the inconvenience. We really appreciate your feedback and we’d like to offer you a 14-day free trial with all functionality available and a 10% off in our pricing plans.

It seemed a little flaky so I waited a few days and checked their website, it still advertised a free trial.

“Get 1 canvas + 1 user totally FREE (No credit card is required.)”

A day later I got another copy of the original “nurturing” E-Mail.

  1. Sending the identical e-mail a week later is definitely not a good idea.
  2. Not fixing the website announcement of a free trial tells me that they are in free fall.

Trackback from your site.

Comments (3)

  • Doug

    |

    Sean,
    This is a problem with methodologies and silver bullet solutions. People start to believe the method is the reality. You need to be “lean”. They are chasing “leanness”, not business.
    I guess if your business is selling the hype, keep selling.
    The same is true for “agile”, “6 sigma” and even “ISO-9000”. If it helps do it, if it is useless extra work, steal what you like and keep going.
    Doug

    Reply

Leave a comment

Quick Links

Bootstrappers Breakfast Link Startup Stages Clients In the News Upcoming Events Office Hours Button Newsletter SignUp